Hi! In July, I wrote about taking better photographs with your blackberry: you can see that post here. Today, we’ll talk about sending photos to others from your blackberry.
When discussing using the camera on your blackberry, it’s important that you have a media card installed. That way, your photos are stored on the card, not in the internal memory of your device. The internal memory is very limited and storing your photos there will seriously degrade the performance of your blackberry; there’s also not a lot of room for photos there. The media cards are inexpensive and are available at most retailers who stock electronics (Radio Shack seems to always have a sale!).
So let’s get started.
Start the camera on your blackberry. You should see a screen similar to this. (If your camera is set to full screen mode, press the ‘sym’ key and you’ll see the controls at the bottom).
The trackball zooms (scroll up for zooming in, down for zooming out); the space bar toggles the flash mode (on/off/auto); the sym key toggles the full screen mode; take a photo by pressing the enter key, the track ball, or the right convenience key.
Once you’ve taken a photo, your screen will look like this (when you’re not in full screen mode…remember, toggle with the sym key).
The icons along the bottom are:
- take another photo
- set picture as… (you can make it your home screen image or as a caller ID photo in your address book)
- rename the photo
- delete it
- send the photo
Click the last icon to the right and you’ll see this menu (you might be able to scroll down in that menu if you have more sending choices such as Facebook).
Type in the recipient’s address, scroll down to the body and add whatever you need there, and then send the email normally. If you chose Messenger, the photo will be sent via BBM (blackberry messenger) and if you chose MMS, you’ll be prompted with an MMS message screen.
If you stay in full screen mode (I do because I can see the photo better), use the menu key to select how to send your photo. The menu looks like this:
Once you’ve sent the photograph, you’ll be returned to the camera function where you can send it again to someone else, save it, etc.
Note: bbm and email tend to send fast; mms not so fast. It’s a good idea to NOT delete your photo until you’re sure it’s really been sent (you can check the messaging window on your blackberry). If you take a picture, send it as an mms, and then go back to the camera and delete it, your blackberry may not have had enough time to send the photo and it will be lost.
So now grab your blackberry, take a photo and send it to someone!